Lessons Learned (#1) Upwork Connects
As per Upwork Help & Support / Use Connects page,
Connects may be returned under the following circumstances:
- If a project is canceled by the client without making a hire, the Connects used on that proposal will be returned to you for reuse. This does not apply to expired job posts.
- If a job post has been removed by Upwork for a Terms of Service violation, the Connects used on that proposal will be returned for you to reuse
Note: Withdrawing your proposal will not return your Connects.
Today, Upwork notified me about a project I submitted a proposal on last month. Upwork informed me that it expired and has been archived. I was curious about whether my Upwork Connects would be refunded or not. After checking my Connects balance, there was no indication of a refund. As a result, I reviewed the Upwork Help & Support site.
The lesson learned from this experience is to be aware that each Upwork Connect will cost you money. For every non-refundable proposal you make, you will lose money if you do not secure the contract.